• Hi, if you have stumbled across here, welcome to our test site. This site is a working replica of the main aawforum.org website where we test and evalute new features and software updates. While you can login and post here, push notifications and email notifications have been disabled and any and all content on this site will be delelted with no notice. So please feel free to look around at our pile of shavings while we continue to refine the AAW Forums but please do not post any real messages here as no one will see them. Thanks!
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

big bowl trouble

So I'm new to turning in 2020 and I've been cranking out bowls this last month and feel that I'm starting to get a feel for it (though far from actually good at it). In the beginning all of my bowls were 6x3 from standard bowl blanks that I bought and things went fairly well. Now I've started to rough turn bowls from green wood and my issue is with the bigger ones. I'm using a screw chuck and the tailstock center to mount the log and I rough shape the outside of the bowl, create a dovetailed tenon and then flip it around into vicmarc chuck to start hollowing out the bowl (standard procedure). However when I do that the bowl is ever so slightly "out of round"-- it wobbles some which causes undue vibration when I go to hollow it out. It did not do that when it was in the screw chuck between centers- it spun true before I turned it around. It only happens when my bowls are about 10 inches or more in diameter. So my questions are: does this actually matter? and if so what is the cause of it and how do I fix it?
thanks!

Emiliano Achaval

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
Website
hawaiiankoaturner.com