• Hi, if you have stumbled across here, welcome to our test site. This site is a working replica of the main aawforum.org website where we test and evalute new features and software updates. While you can login and post here, push notifications and email notifications have been disabled and any and all content on this site will be delelted with no notice. So please feel free to look around at our pile of shavings while we continue to refine the AAW Forums but please do not post any real messages here as no one will see them. Thanks!
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Questions about using shop vac for dust collection

I am new to woodturning and just converted a small room in my house into a shop space. I have a shop vac (wet/dry vac) and no other dust collection system.(I do also have an air cleaner but not a dust collector.) I use the vac for sucking up dust when sanding on the lathe and also just for general cleanup after I'm done turning. My main question is whether or not to use the dust bags in the shop vac or not? I turn mostly green wood because it is available in large quantities for free but i am concerned that because the wood is wet that it may cause mold in my vac over time. Is this something to worry about? I just don't want to end up blowing mold around the shop. If I wasn't using the bags I could just empty the vacuum every day or 2 but the bags are not reusable and can't be emptied so they just sit with the contents inside them until they're full and thrown away. Im concerned over a month or so that mold could develop. I like using them because they collect all the dust and don't blow it back out the exhaust.