• Hi, if you have stumbled across here, welcome to our test site. This site is a working replica of the main aawforum.org website where we test and evalute new features and software updates. While you can login and post here, push notifications and email notifications have been disabled and any and all content on this site will be delelted with no notice. So please feel free to look around at our pile of shavings while we continue to refine the AAW Forums but please do not post any real messages here as no one will see them. Thanks!
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

What is a good start??

I'm new to woodturning and wanted suggestion on where to start. What is a good starter lathe that I wont outgrow in 6 months? I see there are different chucks, what is the best to start with? What tools are considered essential to start with?

Thanks!

Very wide open question Carl. It would help to answer your questions if you let us know a budget, and a little bit about what you would like to turn. Otherwise, the answers will range from about $1000 to $10,000 In cost and will include almost every option out there.

BTW, welcome to the forum!

hockenbery

AAW Advisor
Staff member
Beta Tester
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
In anteCovid times the absolute best place to start is a quality class.
You could go to John C Campbell or to David Ellsworth’s for a long weekend or connect with a mentor/teacher from a local Chapter.

In the classes you not only learn basic skills that make turning rewarding an pleasurable but you also get an appreciation for what features to look for in tools.

my suggestion for getting started is to spend the first few months on spindles,