• Hi, if you have stumbled across here, welcome to our test site. This site is a working replica of the main aawforum.org website where we test and evalute new features and software updates. While you can login and post here, push notifications and email notifications have been disabled and any and all content on this site will be delelted with no notice. So please feel free to look around at our pile of shavings while we continue to refine the AAW Forums but please do not post any real messages here as no one will see them. Thanks!
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

What's a good average bowl blank size

IMG_5939.JPG I'm new to bowl turning. I know the obvious answer is no bigger than will fit on the lathe. I'm looking more towards something I can gift or trade. I have access to a lot of wood that changes on a weekly basis. There is a tree cutter about a 1/2 mile from me with a tree lot. It's free if you don't count any of the equipment, time and effort involved in getting it.

How important is it that it's a uniform thickness?

Is it worth making it flatter than the chainsawed face, or leave that to the final turner?

Is a square blank preferred over a round one?

What is the best book to identify the type of wood from only the bark and the end of the log. This is just. A big pile of City wood so everything gets dumped in there.

The picture shows an example of what's is there and depending on the weather this pile changes all the time. What you can see is that the pile goes 50-70 meters to the west as well.